Peter Alward terminates contract in June 2015

Peter Alward, Managing Director and Intendant of the Salzburg Easter Festival, terminates his contract with effect from 30th June 2015.

Read more >>>




2014 Salzburg Easter Festival:

Great artistic and economic success


Christian Thielemann and the Staatskapelle Dresden as Artistic Director and orchestra in residence concluded their second season with Richard Strauss’s opera Arabella on 21 April 2014. The Staatskapelle Dresden received high acclaim from both critics and audiences alike for their opera, concert and chamber music performances. Both conductor and cast, led by Renée Fleming, Thomas Hampson, Hanna-Elisabeth Müller and Daniel Behle, were very highly praised. The Salzburg Easter Festival also wishes to express its thanks to Unitel and 3sat for their cooperation in the televising of this opera production, which will appear later this year on DVD.


Applause for the Arabella cast (c) Matthias Creutziger

The strategy for opening up the Salzburg Easter Festival to both a more regional and a younger audience was once again successful, particularly in the positive reactions shown for the Concert for Salzburg (where Hanna-Elisabeth Müller was also enthusiastically received) and the Children’s concert Kapelle für Kids.

In total around 16.400 tickets were sold for the 2014 Salzburg Easter Festival. The overall seat occupancy factor was 88 percent. The Arabella Premiere and the Concert for Salzburg were sold out.

International media interest in the Salzburg Easter Festival remains on a high level: 121 journalists from twelve nations filed reviews about the festival.
The economic impact on the entire Salzburg region is approximately EUR 20 million with, in addition, EUR 2,5 million tax income for the Austrian state.

Christian Thielemann comments on his second festival season: „Our second season of the Salzburg Easter Festival can also be considered artistically very successful. The Staatskapelle Dresden has proven their unique competence in the music of Richard Strauss. Moreover I am very happy about the audience’s highly positive response to our programmatic focus on Mozart, Strauss and Rihm. We would like to thank all the artists who performed as well as all those working behind the scenes who all make an important contribution to the realisation of this festival.“

Peter Alward, Managing Director and Intendant, says: “It is particularly heartwarming to see that the expectations placed in Christian Thielemann and the Staatskapelle Dresden have once again been so enthusiastically confirmed by both public and press. This creates extremely positive excitement for the coming years, moving towards our 50th anniversary in 2017.”

Managing Director Bernd Gaubinger, says: “The Easter Festival can show both major artistic and economic success. Over 50 percent of the budget is obtained from the sale of tickets, with further sums obtained from coproductions, sponsoring, donations and in particular the Patron’s association. Thus the Easter Festival receives only around 13 percent of public subsidy.“

2015: Cavalleria rusticana and Pagliacci

The Salzburg Easter Fesival's next season is dominated by Italian and Russian music and features the two veristic operas Cavalleria rusticana and Pagliacci with Jonas Kaufmann, Verdi's Messa da Requiem and works by Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich. Isabel Karajan makes a welcome return with a scenic collage around the music of Shostakovich as well as for Prokofjev's Peter and the Wolf. You can find the 2015 programme here:


Ticket Booking

Ticket Office

Herbert-von-Karajan-Platz 9
5020 Salzburg, Austria 

Tel. +43/662/80 45-361
  +43/662/80 45-362
Fax +43/662/80 45-790


Opening Hours:
Mo-Fr 9.00 a.m.-1.00 p.m.


Stay updated about news by email:
Subscribe to our newsletter >>>



Visit us on our Facebook page: