Orchestral Concert Jansons

Staatskapelle Dresden

Mariss Jansons (c) Marco Borggreve
Mariss Jansons (c) Marco Borggreve

Symphony No. 100 in G major, Hob. I:100 „Military Symphony“

Symphony No. 4 in G major

Regula Mühlemann Soprano
Mariss Jansons Conductor

Sunday, 14 April, 19:00
Sunday, 21 April, 19:00
Grosses Festspielhaus

Performance end time approx. 20:45

As already announced at Easter 2018, Mariss Jansons will be presented with the Herbert von Karajan Prize at the 2019 Salzburg Easter Festival. This Prize, endowed by Eliette von Karajan and worth EUR 50,000, will be presented at the Orchestral Concert of 14 April, when Mariss Jansons will conduct the Staatskapelle Dresden.
Mariss Jansons is one of the few conductors for whom Herbert von Karajan was a musical mentor. His initial impressions of the Easter Festival date back to its early years: ‘I experienced the Salzburg Easter Festival already back in 1969 under Herbert von Karajan. It made an incredible, deep impression on me – especially Herbert von Karajan himself, of course, with his rehearsals, orchestra concerts and opera performances. I will never forget that time!’

When Mariss Jansons is presented with this year’s Herbert von Karajan Prize, it will be like closing the circle. ‘For me personally, it is a source of great joy and an honour to participate in this year’s Easter Festival, and to be awarded the Herbert von Karajan Prize’, says Mariss Jansons.