Programme of Concert for Salzburg Expanded

More Verdi!

More Verdi! The programme of Concert for Salzburg has been expanded: Myung-Whun Chung will conduct additional excerpts from Verdi operas.

At Myung-Whun Chung’s personal wish the Verdi programme of the Concert for Salzburg has been expanded. Instead of the “Ballabili” (ballet music) from Otello he will conduct additional excerpts from La traviata, Otello and Don Carlo - appropriate for the Verdi year 2013, when both the composer’s 200th birthday and the 150th anniversary of the premiere of La traviata (6 March 1853) are celebrated.

Two further up-and-coming young singers will now make their Salzburg audience debut: Julian Kim and Attilio Glaser. The first part of the concert with works by Richard Wagner under the musical direction of Christian Thielemann remains unchanged. Therefore the programme is as follows:

Ouvertüre to Tannhäuser
Elsas Traum from Lohengrin
Vorspiel and Isoldes Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde

Prelude to La traviata
Germont‘s aria „Di Provenza il mar, il suol“ from La traviata
Desdemona’s prayer „Ave Maria, piena di grazia“ from Otello
Overture to La forza del destino
Rodrigo‘s aria „O Carlo, ascolta“ - „Io morrò” from Don Carlo
Violetta‘s aria „È strano“ - „Ah, fors’è lui“ - „Sempre libera“ from La traviata

Rachel Willis-Sørensen soprano (Wagner)
Maria Agresta soprano (Verdi)
Julian Kim baritone (Verdi)
Attilio Glaser tenor (Verdi)

Christian Thielemann conductor (Wagner)
Myung-Whun Chung conductor (Verdi)

Remaining tickets are available at the following prices: EUR 15,- (school students, students, holders of European Youth Card Austria), 50,- and 70,-

Go back