Staatskapelle Dresden

One of the oldest orchestras in the world with a rich tradition has been the orchestra in residence of the Salzburg Easter Festival since 2013

Richard Wagner’s “Wonderharp”

Founded by Prince-Elector Moritz von Sachsen in 1548, the Staatskapelle Dresden is one of the oldest orchestras in the world and thus steeped in tradition. Over its long history many distinguished conductors and internationally celebrated instrumentalists have left their mark on this former court orchestra. Previous directors include Heinrich Schütz, Johann Adolf Hasse, Carl Maria von Weber and Richard Wagner, who called the ensemble his ‘wonderharp’.

The list of prominent conductors of the last 100 years includes Ernst von Schuch, Fritz Reiner, Fritz Busch, Karl Böhm, Joseph Keilberth, Rudolf Kempe, Otmar Suitner, Kurt Sanderling, Herbert Blomstedt and Giuseppe Sinopoli. The orchestra was directed by Bernard Haitink from 2002–2004 and by Fabio Luisi from 2007–2010. Christian Thielemann took up the baton as principal conductor in the 2012/13 season. In May 2016 the former principal conductor Herbert Blomstedt received the title of conductor laureate. The only person to previously hold this title was Sir Colin Davis, from 1990 until his death in April 2013. Myung-Whun Chung has been principal guest conductor since 2012.

World Premieres of Works by Richard Strauss - and Many Others

Richard Strauss and the Staatskapelle had a close association for more than 60 years. Nine of the composer’s operas were first performed in Dresden, including Salome, Elektra and Der Rosenkavalier, while Strauss’s Alpensinfonie was dedicated to the orchestra. Many other famous composers have written works first performed by the Staatskapelle. In 2007 the Staatskapelle reaffirmed this tradition by introducing the annual position of ‘Capell-Compositeur’. Following on from Hans Werner Henze, Sofia Gubaidulina, Wolfgang Rihm, György Kurtág, Arvo Pärt, Peter Eötvös and Aribert Reimann, composer Giuseppe Sinopoli holds this title posthumously for the 2020/21 season. Sir András Schiff presents himself several times in Dresden as the new ‘Capell-Virtuos’.

At Home at the Semperoper - and Touring the World

The Staatskapelle Dresden’s home is the Semperoper, where it performs around 250 opera and ballet performances each season. In addition the ensemble presents another 50 symphonic and chamber concerts in the opera house, as well as playing at various musical events in Dresden’s Frauenkirche and the Kulturpalast.

As one of the world’s most renowned symphony orchestras, the Staatskapelle regularly travels abroad to the world’s leading classical venues. Since 2013, the Staatskapelle Dresden has been the Orchestra in Residence at the Salzburg Easter Festival, whose Artistic Director is Christian Thielemann.

Engagements and Awards

As patron orchestra of the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra, the Staatskapelle supports the nurturing of young talent. Also active at the local level, the Staatskapelle is a partner of Meetingpoint Music Messiaen in Görlitz-Zgorzelec and, in 2010, helped found the International Shostakovich Festival in Gohrisch, which is the first annual event dedicated to the music and life of the composer Dmitri Shostakovich.

At a ceremony in Brussels in 2007, the Staatskapelle Dresden became the first and so far only orchestra to be awarded the European Prize for the Preservation of the World’s Musical Heritage.

Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden

Einer der traditionsreichsten Klangkörper der Welt ist seit 2013 das Residenzorchester der Osterfestspiele Salzburg

Richard Wagners „Wunderharfe“

Durch Kurfürst Moritz von Sachsen 1548 gegründet, ist die Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden eines der ältesten und traditionsreichsten Orchester der Welt. Seit ihrem Bestehen haben bedeutende Kapellmeister und international geschätzte Instrumentalisten die Geschichte der einstigen Hofkapelle geprägt. Zu ihren Leitern gehörten u. a. Heinrich Schütz, Johann Adolf Hasse, Carl Maria von Weber und Richard Wagner, der das Orchester als seine „Wunderharfe“ bezeichnete.

Bedeutende Chefdirigenten der letzten 100 Jahre waren Ernst von Schuch, Fritz Reiner, Fritz Busch, Karl Böhm, Joseph Keilberth, Rudolf Kempe, Otmar Suitner, Kurt Sanderling, Herbert Blomstedt und Giuseppe Sinopoli. Ab 2002 standen Bernard Haitink (bis 2004) und Fabio Luisi (2007-2010) an der Spitze des Orchesters. Seit der Saison 2012/13 ist Christian Thielemann Chefdirigent der Staatskapelle. Im Mai 2016 wurde der ehemalige Chefdirigent Herbert Blomstedt zum Ehrendirigenten ernannt. Diesen Titel hatte bislang einzig Sir Colin Davis von 1990 bis zu seinem Tod 2013 inne. Myung-Whun Chung trägt seit 2012 den Titel des Ersten Gastdirigenten.

Zahlreiche Uraufführungen von Richard Strauss bis zur Gegenwart

Richard Strauss war der Staatskapelle mehr als sechzig Jahre lang freundschaftlich verbunden. Neun seiner Opern, darunter Salome, Elektra und Der Rosenkavalier wurden in Dresden uraufgeführt; seine Alpensinfonie widmete er der Staatskapelle. Auch zahlreiche andere berühmte Komponisten schrieben Werke, die von der Staatskapelle uraufgeführt wurden. An diese Tradition knüpft das Orchester seit 2007 mit dem Titel „Capell-Compositeur“ an. Nach Hans Werner Henze, Sofia Gubaidulina, Wolfgang Rihm, György Kurtág, Arvo Pärt, Peter Eötvös und Aribert Reimann trägt diesen Titel in der Saison 2020/21 Giuseppe Sinopoli postum. Als neuer „Capell-Virtuos“ präsentiert sich Sir András Schiff mehrfach in Dresden.

Heimat Semperoper - und weltweite Gastauftritte

Die Sächsische Staatskapelle ist in der Semperoper beheimatet und hier pro Saison in etwa 250 Opern- und Ballettaufführungen zu hören. Hinzu kommen etwa 50 symphonische und kammermusikalische Konzerte sowie Aufführungen in der Dresdner Frauenkirche und im Kulturpalast.

Als eines der international begehrtesten Symphonieorchester gastiert die Staatskapelle regelmäßig in den großen Musikzentren der Welt. Seit 2013 ist die Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden das Orchester der Osterfestspiele Salzburg, deren Künstlerische Leitung in den Händen von Christian Thielemann liegt.

Engagement und Auszeichnungen

Die Staatskapelle engagiert sich als Patenorchester des Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters für den musikalischen Nachwuchs und ist zudem in der Region aktiv: Sie ist Partnerin des Meetingpoint Music Messiaen in Görlitz-Zgorzelec und rief 2010 die Internationalen Schostakowitsch Tage Gohrisch mit ins Leben, die sich – als erstes Festival weltweit – jährlich dem Schaffen Dmitri Schostakowitschs widmen.

2007 erhielt die Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden als bislang einziges Orchester in Brüssel den Preis der Europäischen Kulturstiftung für die Bewahrung des musikalischen Weltkulturerbes.

  • Werden Sie Förderer und sichern Sie sich Ihr Abonnement.
  • Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie im Kartenbüro.