Herbert von Karajan Prize

Eliette von Karajan, the widow of the conductor, has established a Herbert von Karajan Prize to be awarded in 2017 on the 50th anniversary of the Salzburg Easter Festival. This Prize, worth € 50,000,– will be awarded each year as of 2017 to a musician whose exceptional artistic achievements have found global recognition.

Young artists are to be awarded the Prize, which will signify a special moment in their musical career.

“I believe that it is wholly in the spirit of Herbert von Karajan that this Prize should in future be based in Salzburg, in this city that was so central to his life and work as an artist. The jubilee of the Salzburg Easter Festival that he founded will also offer an internationally recognised forum for the award of the first Prize”. Eliette von Karajan (2017)

Herbert von Karajan Prize winners

2017 Daniil Trifonov

2018 Sol Gabetta

2019 Mariss Jansons

2021 Hilary Hahn

2022 Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden